a pic of my brain The Compleat Iconoclast
 
...Vote For Your Favorite Wench...


TRF Pics 2003 - Weekend the Fyrst


A dragon sculpted from mud

The first weekend of the Texas Renaissance Festival was a recordbreaker. The weather was perfect, and folks came out in herds. In fact, according to the Beefeaters, the Saturday crown of 29,106 patrons beat any previous opening day by about 20%. The Sunday crowd, while smaller, (it always is) was still a good one at 17,326.

I had a great time, marred by trying to hawk in some fairly new boots. Not good. A pic of my feet on Saturday night would scare women and small children, and give the most confident podiatrist pause. I switched boots for Sunday.

Since I have managed to seriously break my digital camera (sat on it, I think), and didn't wanna haul around the bigass 35mm, I resorted to one of those cheap disposables. Pic quality is not too good, but hey, what are you folks expecting for free? Besides, I was busy working. That's my story, yeah, that's the ticket...

Anyway, without further ado, a few pics that I managed to photoshop to the point that I'm not ashamed to let ya'll see them.

As always, standard boilerplate applies re: copyright and such, and these pics are resized, highly compressed versions of the originals, optimised for the web and all you po' folks still trying to suck down the net through a dialup straw. If you want the original hi-res versions, drop me a line.

Click on the thumbnails for a larger version of the pic...

Girls of the St. Agnes choir

A few of the girls from the St.Agnes choir

Dammit - don't know her faire name - will update...

This girl's garb is much better looking than her pic shows - the back is a solid cape of the feathers you see on her right (your left) side.



Best new change to the faire I've seen so far this year was addition to the mud fairies whom I've written about before They were working on the dragon you saw at the top of this entry.

The mud dragon
<br/><br/>

This was what it looked like early Sunday

A mud faerie mugs for the camera

Did I mention that they'll mug for the cameras?

The mud faerie at work

This is what the dragon looked like by Sunday night

Three noble ladies of the TRF cast

As usual, the ladies of the performance cast are colorful and photogenic

a rear view of some chainmail chicks

I was walking down a lane when I spied these wenches...

chainmail chicks

Who were happy to turn around and let me get a pic from the other side.

This is Sally the Strumpet. She's for rent, but caveat emptor...

Sally the Strumpet

Not enough whiskey in the world, baby.

 
 
...up and running for 8049 days
last touched: 9/11/15, 7:48 AM
...login status...
hello, stranger.
i live for feedback.
schmack me with your syllables...
but first you have to login. it's free.
...search this site...
...menu...
March 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31
September
...new posts and comments...
...bloggus amicus...
... beth
... capt. napalm
... craniac
... emdot
... genee
... gina
... kc
... macker
... rosalie
... sasha
... seajay
... spring dew
... stacia
... timothy
... wlofie
...antville amicae...
... ceridwen
... daveworld
... jane95
... kate
...obligatory blogrolling...

...daily stops...
... domai
... google
... nation states
... yahoo
get email when the blog updates

email:
let me know   
quit bugging me      
mailbot powered by
Conman Labs Logo
...headlines from space.com...



RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher