a pic of my brain The Compleat Iconoclast
 
...Vote For Your Favorite Wench...


The Mud Faeries


These pics have been sitting on my hard drive waaay too long. I've known this couple for years, though I forgotten their real names. (At a renfest, we tend to only know character names.) At Scarborough Faire, they perform as mud faeries, sculpting various life forms - mermaids, pirates, legendary creatures, wizards, and so on.

Amazingly, they remain mute the entire time, as this particular flavor of faerie does not speak, and they communicate with with the patron of the faire totally with gestures, facial expressions, and a strange melange of chirps, trills, and other assorted noises. They work for tips, and the crowd mostly stands around quietly and watches them work for minutes on end, then tossing a bill or two in the jars.

Note to you folks: If you're going to take some pictures of their work you are a compleat chintzy Shylock of a moron dork if you don't give them some money!

Here are a few that I took this last season. I've some more of the season before that I will try and dig up and add later.

Another mud faerie with a three-headed snake.
Amira (aka Nikki Namik) sculpts a three-headed snake


A mud faerie scuplts a gryphon from mud.

A mud faerie (Bryan Toranzo) sculpts a gryphon



That gryphon was a fantastic work of art, my favorite work of dozen or so I saw them do last season. Here's another look at it...

A gryphon sculpted from mud

 

this is beautiful. i wanna play too! can this be my next career?

... Link

Dog Dammit!

Nikki, in the process of editing a typo in your comment to make the URL work, I deleted the whole damn thing by accident! Can you resend?

mld

... link


... Comment
 
...up and running for 8077 days
last touched: 9/11/15, 7:48 AM
...login status...
hello, stranger.
i live for feedback.
schmack me with your syllables...
but first you have to login. it's free.
...search this site...
...menu...
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
September
...new posts and comments...
...bloggus amicus...
... beth
... capt. napalm
... craniac
... emdot
... genee
... gina
... kc
... macker
... rosalie
... sasha
... seajay
... spring dew
... stacia
... timothy
... wlofie
...antville amicae...
... ceridwen
... daveworld
... jane95
... kate
...obligatory blogrolling...

...daily stops...
... domai
... google
... nation states
... yahoo
get email when the blog updates

email:
let me know   
quit bugging me      
mailbot powered by
Conman Labs Logo
...headlines from space.com...



RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher