a pic of my brain The Compleat Iconoclast
 
...Vote For Your Favorite Wench...


The Four HorseMen of the Techopalypse


I'm feeling particularly surly today.

In the last week, I've had internet access through my local broadband provider for all of about one and a half days (which is why there've been no more TRF pics up for a while), for reasons that are unclear. They've seemed to have a rash of outages, though, to be fair, we've had some bad weather of late, and it has been fairly reliable in the past.

Today, I was speaking about it to my friend Ceri, on a cell phone which only works about half the time here at home, as Verizon has shitty coverage hereabouts.

I don't mean in the area, I mean here in my little living space.

It works in the bathroom, sometimes in the office, never in the hallway or living room, and only in the bedroom if I hold the phone to my head on the side closest to the window at exactly 47.5 degrees, +- a degree or so, so long as it ain't cloudy, the wind isn't blowing some tree branches around, a butterfly doesn't flap its wings in China, and that you religiously, like a monk chanting his vespers, utter the mantra "Can You Hear Me Now?" about every seventeen seconds.

It's something to think about before you run out and do like I did and cancel that landline, kiddos.

Anyway, it got us to polling each other, "Who do you hate the most - the cable company or the telephone company?"

This had been for me the major factor in choosing a broadband provider - to whom did it least disgust me to send my moolah every month? Who was least likely to buttfuck me with a bevy of service charges and arcane add-on access fees, troglodyte tech reps, and a monthly invoice that only the motherfuckers that write the IRS code could love?

What a choice.

Toss in the cell phone companies, and there you have it, I said, The Geek Axis of Evile, with their Armies of Asshats, their Tech Support Terrorists, their Battalions of Bureaucrats, against whom we should all rise up with pitchforks and torches and toss into the nearest bonfire. It takes a horde to raze the Global Village.

About that time her machine crashed, and I realized I'd left out one important MVP in the category of Folks You Love To Hate, the Orcs of the Operating Sytem, the Demons of the Desktop, the Vampires of the Virii, The Balrogs of the Buffer OverRun, the Revenants of Redmond, the one and only Microsoft.

There you have it, ladies and gents, the Four HorseMen of the Techopalypse.


 

There really is no difference between phone companies and cell phone companies, it's still the telephony business based upon an intelligent network and a dumb edge (while the Internet is the reverse, a dumb core and smart edges).

No, there are two distinct sets of groups vieing for the Four Horsemen of the Infocapalypse. Group one, script kiddies, Drug lords, pedophiles and terrorists. Group two, cable companies, telephony companies, the RIAA and the MPAA. Which group you pick depends upon which group you aren't with.

Oh, and Microsoft to rule them all, and in the wires, bind them.

... Link

Strap on my armor, and Count Me In! i am Ready for this war! frickin de-monopolized monopoly phone companies , cell service via the fates, and cable at insane rates - and all these "bundle service" deals that really SUCK once you get past the introductory 3-month low price of 69.95. which you never pay anyway because of the frigging TAX and SERVICE fees! if they're gonna charge you service fees, i want some service, not just techno-ignorant nosepickers on phones in india!

... link


... Comment
 
...up and running for 8049 days
last touched: 9/11/15, 7:48 AM
...login status...
hello, stranger.
i live for feedback.
schmack me with your syllables...
but first you have to login. it's free.
...search this site...
...menu...
March 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31
September
...new posts and comments...
...bloggus amicus...
... beth
... capt. napalm
... craniac
... emdot
... genee
... gina
... kc
... macker
... rosalie
... sasha
... seajay
... spring dew
... stacia
... timothy
... wlofie
...antville amicae...
... ceridwen
... daveworld
... jane95
... kate
...obligatory blogrolling...

...daily stops...
... domai
... google
... nation states
... yahoo
get email when the blog updates

email:
let me know   
quit bugging me      
mailbot powered by
Conman Labs Logo
...headlines from space.com...



RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher