a pic of my brain The Compleat Iconoclast
 
...Vote For Your Favorite Wench...


Iraq and Roll


I wan't going to blog about my visits to the Houston Rodeo this year. Hell, I've still got several hundred pics and a few concert reviews for last year sittin on the hard drive waiting to see the light of an internet day.

But some stuff is just too damn good not to mention.

Lynyrd Skynyrd had been scheduled, along with Jerry Jeff Walker, for tonight's show. However, Gary Rossington had to have heart surgery last week, so the rodeo called in Clint Black to sub for him.

Clint played a few of his standards, and then played "The Breeze" for all the Skynyrd fans. To help with that song, he called up his two brothers, Kevin and Brian, with whom he used to play back in the days before he hit the Big Time. I thought that was pretty cool, as so far as I know (and that's a bigass caveat) that's the first time they'd ever been on a stage together in about fifteen years. Clint's band has a few former rockers in it (Jake, his bassist, is a great jazz and rock player, and Hayden smokes on guitar) so they did a truly good job with the tune.

I'm thinkin' to myself, that song alone made me glad I came.

Then Clint drops this bomb...

He says that he'd been fortunate enough to have been spending some time entertaining our troops, and after hanging around them for a while, just a few days ago, he and Hayden had finished writing a new song, and they were now going to play it for us. Oh, and by the way, you could download it for free. He said it was going to be free, like America. And would we mind calling the local country radio stations and ask them to play it.

It's called "Iraq and Roll"

It will become a number one song on the country charts, the unofficial anthem of our combat troops in the Middle East. I garan-dam-tee it. (I am sometimes wrong, but never uncertain :-)

I dl'd it tonight, then spent a half hour transcribing the lyrics, which follow:

You can wave your signs in protest Against America takin' a stand. The stands America's taken Are the reason that you can. If everyone would go for peace, There'd be no need for war, But we can't ignore the Devil, He'll keep coming back for more.

Some see this in black and white, Others only gray. We're not beggin' for a fight, No matter what they say. We have a resolution That should put them all to shame. It's a different kind of deadline When I'm callin' the game.

Iraq, I rack 'em up and I roll. I'm back, and I'm a high-tech GI Joe. I pray for peace, prepare for war, And I never will forget. There's no price too high for freedom, So be careful where you tread.

Now, this terror isn't man-to-man, They can be no more than cowards. If they won't show us their weapons, We might have to show them ours. Now, it might be a smart bomb They find stupid people too. If you stand with the likes of Saddam One just might find you.

Iraq, I rack 'em up and I roll I'm back, and I'm a high-tech GI Joe. I got infrared, I got GPS I got that good ol' fashioned lead. There's no price too high for freedom, So be careful where you tread.

Now, you can come along, Or you can stay behind, Or you can get out of the way. But our troops take out the garbage For the good ol' USA.

Iraq, I rack 'em up and I roll (in the USA) Iraq, I rack 'em up and I roll (talkin' bout the USA) Iraq, I rack 'em up and I roll (in the USA) Iraq, I rack 'em up and I roll (talkin' bout the USA) Iraq, I rack 'em up and I roll (in the USA)

The song flat kicks ass.

UPDATE 3-15-2003: They've finally got the lyrics up on Clint's site. However, the transcription is wrong, with several glaring discrepancies between the song and the published lyrics.

As an example, compare the official version of this line:

"I GOT INFRARED, GPS AND GOOD OLD FASHIONED LEAD"

(And what's up with the SHOUTING, anyway?)

This is clearly wrong. I stand by my version:

"I got infrared, I got GPS I got that good ol' fashioned lead."

Have I ever mentioned I can be a bit pedantic?


 
Lotsa Anthems

Heard Darrell Worley's newest yet? It might give ol' Clint a run for his money in the Unofficial Anthem department. I heard it the other night on CMT, when they played the world premiere of the accompanying video. I think it's called "Have You Forgotten?" Something along those lines, anyway, and it's pretty good, too. I have 'Iraq and Roll' downloading now, so I haven't heard it yet.

Of course, from the looks of the guys (and girls) in the video for "The Angry American" Toby already wrote the troops an anthem that they are pretty damn fond of. :) But I'd say there's room for more than one. They might could be over there a while, even if the shooting doesn't last too long. Might need more than one song to sing...

... Link

A Song for the Fighters

I think that the first real anthem was Alan Jackson's "Where Were You When The World Stopped Turning?" While I love that song, it's not the sort of song some 20 y.o. corporal will have blaring from his loudspeakers of his Abrams while he's rollin' through the deserts of Iraq. It's more of a 9/11 song.

I like Worley's song, but the same comment applies.

I thought Toby's song was, as a song, mediocre.

Lemme know what you think after you've heard it. :-)

... link

Hmmm...

Well, from that standpoint, I can see what you mean. I might need to listen to it a few more times to be really enthusiastic. I like Jackson's song, but it's not the Unofficial Anthem for the soldiers type of song, I agree.

I love "The Angry American," and not just because its Toby's song. I thought--and still think--that it perfectly expressed the mood of most of the American people in the immediate aftermath of 9/11. "We are pissed, and we are going to kick your asses." Musically, well, obviously it's not Mozart. I didn't do very well in music theory so I don't feel qualified to comment on its musical value as such. But it captured the mood of the moment at a pivotal time in our history, and as such I think it is, if not a great song, certainly a significant one. I think Alan Jackson's song is similar--Toby nailed the heat-of-the-moment, and Alan Jackson captured the feelings of a later, more reflective, mood. And isn't that what music is really all about?

"The Angry American," by the way, is Alex's current favourite song. I think I told you he had been running around the house singing, "occasionally, talk about me!" The last few days, he's been running around singing, "put a boot up your ass, it's the 'Merican way!" It's hilarious. He knows that word is a "no say" and I think that is part of the delight he is taking in singing that particular line. He's a big Toby Keith fan. Wonder how that happened? :)

... link

Great Song!

I was browsing Clint's site and I found this song -- I love it. I've been a country fan for awhile, but Clint Black is what brought to the genre ('Good Run of Bad Luck' can pull me out of any dark mood.)

In any case, it's a great song and the first of the Iraq war songs. I don't like "Have You Forgotten?" because the premise of the song is a little weak. I support the war. It's just that S11 is not the best justification, IMO.

You're right ceridwen, Jackson's song and Keith's song both capture a post-S11 mood. One last thing -- has anyone heard the 1st track off of 'Tim McGraw and the Dancehall Doctors'? It's called "Comfort Me" and I think it's the best 'pro-America' song that's come out. It's not a war song, it's more in the vein of "American Child" or "Days of America." I really, really like it.

Cheers, Klug

... link

You're Absolutely Right...

...about "Have You Forgotten." Although I kinda like the song, it makes me wonder what Darrell's on and if he will share some of it. Or is he really that stupid? The premise of the song is weak, but it is the same premise George W. has been using for this damn war. 9/11 is not only not the best justification for this war, it is no justification at all. There is no connection between the two. Saddam didn't do it, Iraq didn't do it, Iraq is not hiding Osama bin Laden, and if we go and kick Saddam's butt, Osama will still be sitting over in Pakistan where he has been all this time, no doubt laughing his ass off and having his operatives planning more bombings.

I support the war--my main objection is that it is about 12 years too late--but tying it to 9/11 really pisses me off. That's what Shrub has done, though. It's not just Darrell Worley. I spend about two hours every day delivering newspapers, and when I'm out there walking I have my headphones on, listening to the radio. When I get tired of listening to music (like when the country station plays Martina McBride) I usually end up tuning in to a very right-wing nutcase's talk show. The people calling him very firmly support the war, and very obviously believe that it has something to do with the War on Terrorism and "getting" Osama bin Laden and preventing terrorism on U.S. soil. And I haven't seen or heard any evidence that it has anything to do with any of that.

The whole Iraq thing is a giant red herring. I haven't figured out what George's real objective is. I don't think it's about oil; I don't think George Bush really gives a damn about the poor oppressed Iraqi's, either. I don't know if he is just trying to draw attention away from the fact that we haven't found bin Laden yet, or trying to draw attention away from the bad economy, or if he just wants to "get Saddam" because his daddy didn't. Or if there is some other reason. Or all of the above. All I know is that he has done a damn good job blowing smoke about this 9/11--Iraq connection.

Getting off my soapbox, and taking this back to the music thang, Darrell Worley's song "Have You Forgotten" debuted on Billboard's country music chart at twenty-something. I bet it will be in the top ten by next week and I wouldn't be at all surprised if it hit number one by the week after that. Looks like George's brainwashing job on America is working pretty well.

... link

Have You Forgotten

Great song. I think people living on the east coast and having 9/ll happen are much more aware of current events than any other part of the country.

And bleeding hearts and draft dodgers who ask "What has Saddam done to us?" Should become aware of all the things Saddam, Bin Laden, and various terrorist groups have done to us and the people in the world.

Or join the antichrists and Babylonians (Iraq is Babylon, the Tower of Babel is 55 miles from Baghdad) by becoming a human shield for them. Perhaps you could guard the oilwells or chemical plants.

I support our troops efforts in bringing the dictorial tryants down.

http://artists.mp3s.com/artists/26embryo.html if you'd like to read my comments each day. Or type in embryo mp3 in Yahoo search go down to 10, you'll see the click on so you can go into artists websites for Embryo Songs...

katydidinnc@yahoo.com

... link

I respectfully disagree

I don't think people living on the East coast are necessarily better informed than people anywhere else in the country. I ain't anywhere near the East, and I consider myself pretty well informed. And 9/11 happened to all of us, no matter where. Sure, the people actually there got hit harder, but watching those towers burn and fall was a kick in the stomach for anybody who saw it--tv brings these things up close and personal and distance in miles suddenly doesn't mean a whole lot anymore.

As for the song, I like it. I kinda liked it the first time I heard it; I have been hearing it a lot lately, and I like it more. I sing along. But it's still bullshit. Saddam and Iraq were not responsible for 9/11. Osama bin Laden is not hiding out in Iraq. Saddam and Osama don't even like each other that much. The only connections are government have managed to make between Saddam and Al-Quaeda are tenuous at best. And to roll it up in a big neat ball and proclaim that the war in Iraq has anything much to do with 9/11 sticks in my craw. If we wanted to find Osama bin Laden, we'd be going door-to-door in Baluchistan, rather than rolling towards Baghdad. I am glad we are over there; I agree that Saddam deserves to be taken out and should have been a dozen years ago. I support our troops; I hope for a quick and successful end to this war and that peace and prosperity shine on the US and Iraq forever and ever, etc. Just don't try to tell me that the war in Iraq has any-fucking-thing to do with 9/11 because I'm not buying it.

... link

have you forgotten

My daughter just played for me "Have you forgotten" as I had CNN news on. It brought tears to eyes and a pounding to my heart. Thank you for the song. I think that we all tend to take so very much for granted and some times it takes a song to remind us of all that we have. Thank you for the song!! I only wish that I had had the power to write it. God Bless the USA.

... link

Have You Forgotten

No, I haven't; not for a single day. The events of IX-XI hit some of us harder than others, understandably so. It is a very moving song, but...
For sheer kickass, blastitfromyourAbram's, "Iraq and I Roll" takes it.
I seriously question why we're not hearing more about the atrocities of Saddam & Sons. We know they are a terrorist regime and as such should be considered as part and parcel of the War on Terrorism. This should include kicking the ass of any country that had/has anything to do with terrorism in all its forms. Like it or not, the WTC attacks are part of it. Period.

... link

Have you forgotten the first ammendment?

I heard Darrell's pro war song on the Howard Stern radio show. I must say it is a poke at Americans with the balls to protest their government. Not only is the song insulting to my intelligence but it also suggests that we do not remember 9-11? Remenber this Darrell, we were shocked beyond all belief on that day and now half the country is shocked by the actions of our president. This war will ensure that more attacks and reprisals are committed upon our kids and future generations of Americans. I do not think that Americans are so stupid to believe the ever changing purposes to atack Iraq. First we go in as defenders of America and now we are liberating Iraqi's? We attacked and invaded Iraq, and now we are getting ready to hand these Iraqi's forced fed democracy? And in these "pro active" anthems Darrell Worley encourages Americans to cheer on aggression and a war that will make us the most hated country in the world?

the most American thing you can do in this great country is protest, when you call an opposing idea un American you are also spitting upon the constitution and all the soldiers who died making sure that the enemies of freedom never touched an American shore. We have the right to oppose our govt dont any of you ever forget that. Because bottled water, MRE's, MOAB's and Rumsfeld will never, EVER make a free and grateful nation out of Iraq. We made a monster called Saddam Hussien.

... link


... Comment
Iraq and Roll?

That's about the stupidest title I've heard in country music in a long time - and there are some pretty damn stupid country music song titles out there.
Clint Black has the same right as any anti-war protester to speak his mind - it's called the First Amendment - but those lyrics are totally inane! My 3-year-old could write better lyrics on a bad day.

Now, this terror isn't man-to-man,
They can be no more than cowards.
If they won't show us their weapons,
We might have to show them ours.
Now, it might be a smart bomb
They find stupid people too.
If you stand with the likes of Saddam
One just might find you.

First off, it has never been proven that Hussein had ANYTHING to do with Sept. 11. We should keep focusing our efforts on Osama bin Laden instead of burning more American lives on a small-time dictator.
I will agree Hussein is a terrorist to his own people, but he doesn't have the warpower or will to come after Americans on our own soil. He was properly pacified in 1991. And it wasn't the initial plan to go after Saddam to free his people - that was about the third or fourth draft as we tried to lobby for U.N. support. Our inital reason was because he may or may not have weapons of mass destruction.
Secondly, calling someone stupid because they don't happen to believe exactly as you do shows our lack of understanding of that part of the world. Most Iraqi citizens don't support Saddam, but they don't like the U.S. sticking our noses in every place, either.
Finally, it just royally sucks that Clint Black is going to make money of the backs of our good men and women who are fighting this war.

... Link

Iraq and I roll

First Im gonna have to say fuck you man, I think this is a great song, and I feel that what we are doing In Iraq is nessasry. We HAVE seen Many ties between sadam and bin laden. Also, have you been watching tv, the people in Iraq seem to be DAMN happy that we are there doing what we are doing, how can you say that they dont like us sticking our noses in and helping them. And if we need to go over there now I can deffinatly tell you that sadam was not pacified in 1991. I Want to say that your just a jackass, you think it sucks that Clint is going to make money off our good men and women's backs, I'll tell you right now my brother is over there and many of my other friends and they would rather see people over here suporting them. It is people like you that make them feel bad, and lower their moral more than anything. I can garentee that my brother and pretty much all of the other soilders over there would love this song and will be blasting it throughtout the country. And as I said before I really like this song, I dont think your son, or even you could write anything better. So again, Shut the fuck up, you dont like what America is doing then leave. The least you can do is suppor our troops, But NO you have to go and bad mouth one of the things that make them happy. All they have is music... no Tv no news papers, cuz of assholes like you protesting this war, they cant see this like that becuase they wouldnt think that We are all behind them, Music is somthing that they love, and this song will deffiantly be at the top of their lists.

... link

You tell 'em, Bo

While we're on the subject of the War in Iraq, let me add this:
Celebrities of every ilk are decrying their constitutional right to disagree with the war in Iraq and how dare anyone disagree with their opinions.
No one disputes his or her right to speak and dissent. However, we are also free to express our opinions about their behavior. One of the most powerful ways we have of doing that is by not enriching them monetarily in any way. Not paying one thin dime to see their movies, buy their music, etc. And further, it is also our right to dump any of the products of their celebrity that we’ve previously purchased as a form of protest. And remember, too, your TV has a channel selector; feel free to use it.

... link

Um - You lost me at fuck you.

I have to guess that when you typed your words, bo, that you hoped at least one person would read them.

And then you wrote:

> First Im gonna have to say fuck you man

Geez - what ever happened to saying - "I disagree" - ?

And what is up with the personal attack? Really!?

This is quite a literate and considerate blog - mld puts a great deal of time and effort in researching and expressing the views published here. The least we could do is grant some small measure of this consideration in return.

I do not see anything in sombuddy's post that suggests:

> people like you that make them feel bad

(how do they know s/he does not like one song?)

- or -
> pretty much all of the other soilders over there would love this song

and I am curious what you mean by:

> We HAVE seen Many ties between sadam and bin laden.

But - I expect to be flamed instead of getting good answers. And I have no truck with:

> your just a jackass

> Shut the fuck up

> you dont like what America is doing then leave

I consider those remarks rather unAmerican, by my definition, but permissible - also by my definition of American.

... link

I don't censor comments...

Jane, I've only deleted two comments, ever, to this blog, and both were so ridiculously profane and ignorant as to make Bocephus69's comment look like something out of Vanity Fair. Just thought I'd let you know why those comments are still here.

... link


... Comment
???????

i havent heard the song so my comment isnt aimed at it in particular. however im disgusted by the sudden patriotism in our entertainment industry. ive had more trouble seeing through seran wrap. and please alan jackson?????? mother fucker is just lookin for broader name recognition

... Link


... Comment
 
...up and running for 8078 days
last touched: 9/11/15, 7:48 AM
...login status...
hello, stranger.
i live for feedback.
schmack me with your syllables...
but first you have to login. it's free.
...search this site...
...menu...
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
September
...new posts and comments...
...bloggus amicus...
... beth
... capt. napalm
... craniac
... emdot
... genee
... gina
... kc
... macker
... rosalie
... sasha
... seajay
... spring dew
... stacia
... timothy
... wlofie
...antville amicae...
... ceridwen
... daveworld
... jane95
... kate
...obligatory blogrolling...

...daily stops...
... domai
... google
... nation states
... yahoo
get email when the blog updates

email:
let me know   
quit bugging me      
mailbot powered by
Conman Labs Logo
...headlines from space.com...



RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher