a pic of my brain The Compleat Iconoclast
 
...Vote For Your Favorite Wench...


Duke, the Lost Dog


So we see this dog this afternoon wandering around in a parking lot near our humble abode. He's a big boy, looks to be a cross between a Lab and a Pit Bull, with a huge square head and a deep chest. I make him about 80 pounds. He just has this look about him that lets you know he's lost - that is, iffn you're a dog person.

As we approach, he seems friendly. He has a chain collar with some tags on it. As I hold out my hand to him, I tell him to sit. He does.

Hmm, he's had some training.

He's in great health, by the looks of him - well-fed, clear eyed, and a glossy jet black coat. I'd post a pic, but I left the digital out at my Mom's at Xmas.

I read his tags as he licks my hand. He whines a bit and wags his tail.

The tag with his name on it is old and worn; I can't make out the number, but his name looks like Drake?... no, Duke.

"Hey, Duke, buddy, is that your name?"

Tail banging increases voluminously.

"Are you lost, big fella? Want something to eat?"

He follows me onto the patio, where I shut the gate behind him. His rabies tag had the name and number of his vet, along with the vaccination number. I jot it on my hand, get him a bowl of food, and set it down as I go inside to make the call. He chows down.

The lady at the clinic looks up his info, and gives me the owner's name and home number. I call and leave a message on the answering machine. Not surprising, as it's just after five. They're prolly not home from work yet. I then call back the vet lady, and leave my home number. She offers to place a call to the work number. I tell her go for it. She gives me his home address. I map it on the 'net, and he's from a ritzy neighborhood about three miles from here. So he's definitely wandered off from somebody.

It's now close to midnight. No call yet from the owner. We finally let him in a few hours ago, after he whined at the door.

I had to keep Shelby and the cats in the office with me. The cats were mortified when thay saw him - Spook arched his back, hissed like a steam engine, and started crow-hopping sideways around him. Rusty let out a screech and high-tailed it under the bed. Shelby has been known in the past to not Play Well With Others. She growls and nips at the wolfhounds, who just ignore her as not a threat. They've been sniffing each other like mad through the door.

Duke has been a perfect gentleman, but I don't really trust that pit bull heritage as evidenced by that big ol' blocky head. Last thing I need to be doing is reffing a fourway canine/feline melee. Looks like he's gonna have to spend the night, though.

You'd a thunk they would have called by now. Cookoff Girl is already hoping they never do. (sigh)


 
 
...up and running for 8075 days
last touched: 9/11/15, 7:48 AM
...login status...
hello, stranger.
i live for feedback.
schmack me with your syllables...
but first you have to login. it's free.
...search this site...
...menu...
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
September
...new posts and comments...
...bloggus amicus...
... beth
... capt. napalm
... craniac
... emdot
... genee
... gina
... kc
... macker
... rosalie
... sasha
... seajay
... spring dew
... stacia
... timothy
... wlofie
...antville amicae...
... ceridwen
... daveworld
... jane95
... kate
...obligatory blogrolling...

...daily stops...
... domai
... google
... nation states
... yahoo
get email when the blog updates

email:
let me know   
quit bugging me      
mailbot powered by
Conman Labs Logo
...headlines from space.com...



RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher