a pic of my brain The Compleat Iconoclast
 
...Vote For Your Favorite Wench...


Street Bits


Almost all the entertainers at a renaissance faire (the good ones, anyway) have a stock of "street bits," little routines of less than a minute, they use to interact with the patrons. They are the little brothers of the "path shows," longer scripted playlets that might go as long as ten minutes, and involve several entertainers and patrons.

The development of these bits is an important goal of the workshops they attend before each season. As a hawker, street bits are really all I have time for. I've got some for couples, some for little kids, older folks, groups of teenagers, dads with kids riding on their shoulders, moms with crying brats, you name it.

As my character is a flirtatious type, I created one for a woman that would not offend, but still get the message across.

I look for a woman that is in garb, and has obviously put some time effort, and moolah into her outfit. If she's alone. fine. If there are a group of such women, I will always avoid picking the very prettiest one in that group. I will catch her eye, and unashamedly watch her as she walks by, with a smile on my face. You can easily tell from her body language if she is enjoying the flattery. If she is, after she's gone past a few steps, I'll call out... "Do excuse me lady!"

Most turn and stop without saying anything. "Might I ask that you would grant me a favor?"

Most ask what it is.

Pointing back the way she just came, I say... "Tis most simple. Could you just back up, perhaps, ten or fifteen paces, and once again sashay down the lane? I should like the chance to imprint the vision of your passing more firmly on my mind."

They then bust out laughing, and do it. I've never had a woman tell me no. If she's in a group, the cameras come out, to record the re-sashay, and they'll normally want to get a pic with me before they go. :-)


 
 
...up and running for 8072 days
last touched: 9/11/15, 7:48 AM
...login status...
hello, stranger.
i live for feedback.
schmack me with your syllables...
but first you have to login. it's free.
...search this site...
...menu...
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
September
...new posts and comments...
...bloggus amicus...
... beth
... capt. napalm
... craniac
... emdot
... genee
... gina
... kc
... macker
... rosalie
... sasha
... seajay
... spring dew
... stacia
... timothy
... wlofie
...antville amicae...
... ceridwen
... daveworld
... jane95
... kate
...obligatory blogrolling...

...daily stops...
... domai
... google
... nation states
... yahoo
get email when the blog updates

email:
let me know   
quit bugging me      
mailbot powered by
Conman Labs Logo
...headlines from space.com...



RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher